Low glycemic, gluten-free, super-food, choco-peanut butter cookies!!

Okay, I admit it, I have a sweet tooth (and there is good evidence that this may be genetic!). And while there are times that a “healthy” alternative won’t do, I can snack on these cookies without guilt. As I mentioned in my last post, I have the variant of the TCF7L2 gene that puts me at higher risk of type 2 diabetes if I don’t eat whole grains or eat a low glycemic index diet. So, by adding fibre (flax, oats, chia), protein (Greek yogurt, peanut butter) and healthy fats (almonds, seeds) to this sweet indulgence, I am lowering the glycemic index while still having a “treat.” While I don’t follow a gluten-free diet, I made these cookies for a friend of mine with gluten-intolerance.

Here is the recipe. It makes about 40 good sized cookies with a fair serving size being 2-3 cookies.

Dry ingredients:

  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Baking Mix
  • 1 cup gluten-free oats
  • 1 ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp fresh ground flax seeds
  • 1/3 cup chia seeds

Wet ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt (plain or vanilla)
  • ½ cup agave nectar or honey
  • 2 cups natural peanut butter (or other nut butter)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Add-ins:
  • ½ cup gogi berries
  • ½ cup no-sulfate dried cranberries
  • ½ cup sliced almonds
  • ½ cup sunflower seeds
  • ½ cup pumpkin seeds
  • ½ cup dark (>70% cocoa) chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Beat all wet ingredients together until well combined.
  3. Mix all dry ingredients together in a separate, large bowl.
  4. Gently stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just combined.
  5. Mix in add-ins until just combined.
  6. Form golf ball sized cookies and flatten to ½ inch with your palm. Bake cookies on an ungreased pan for 10-12 minutes or until cooked through but still soft.
  7. Enjoy!!

 

2 comments on “Low glycemic, gluten-free, super-food, choco-peanut butter cookies!!

  1. Josh says:

    Hey Lisa, cool post, did you have any problems with these cookies being dry? if so did you find a solution? looking forward to seeing more recipes!

    • dnadiet says:

      Hi Josh! Thanks for following. Make sure not to over-cook the cookies (I leave mine a bit mushy in the middle). I also add mashed bananas for extra moisture when I have them on hand. Please share any suggestions!

Leave a comment